Raft of Stars

Raft of Stars

A Novel

Book - 2021
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
An instant classic, for fans of Huckleberry Finn, Peace Like a River, and Jim the Boy: when two hardscrabble young boys think they've committed a crime, they flee into the Northwoods of Wisconsin. Will the adults trying to find and protect them reach them before it's too late?
Publisher: New York, NY : Ecco, [2021]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2021
ISBN: 9780063031906
0063031906
Characteristics: 288 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
sammilee515
Apr 17, 2021

Had this on hold and realized I had already read it! Very well-written and not a story I would normally read, but I am a sucker for Huck Finn!

r
Reads_A_Lot
Mar 29, 2021

A little slow at the start. More introspective than adventurous. A lot of time is spent inside the characters’ heads. But by the half way point both the pace and the action picked up and I was hooked. This book has 3 pairs of characters, and for some them the time spent in the wilderness during the crisis gives them a clearer picture of who they are and who they want to be. As a nature lover I enjoyed the Norther Wisconsin setting and the journey down the river. I enjoy stories that revolve around spunky kids, so I also liked the friendship and bond between young Fish and Bread. Good debut by this author. I look forward to future books by him.

DCLadults Mar 12, 2021

A New & Noteworthy staff pick 2021. An adventure story set in the wilds of Wisconsin as two young friends who believe they have killed an abusive father decide to raft downriver to safety. But it’s not safe at all. These two youngsters are fierce and true and I was rooting for them all along.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at GSPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top