Heaven Knows Who

Heaven Knows Who

eBook - 2016
Rate this:
The chilling true account of the Sandyford murder case and the sensational nineteenth-century trial that forever changed how homicides are investigated. Jessie M'Lachlan was one of the countless thousands who lived in the tenements of Glasgow, Scotland. In poor health ever since her pregnancy, the single mother worked herself to the bone to provide for her child, but there was never enough to make ends meet. Her only solace in the brutal port town was the company of her best friend, tough and brawny Jess M'Pherson. Jessie and Jess had forged a bond in hardship, but it would be be torn apart by murder. In the summer of 1862, Jess M'Pherson was found stabbed to death in her bedroom, stripped to the waist and lying in a pool of her own blood. The killing sent Glasgow into an uproar. And when Jess's coat was found in Jessie M'Lachlan's home, the victim's closest friend was charged with murder. In one of the most sensational trials in Scottish history-the first to make use of forensic photography-Jessie's life was picked apart. Though her lawyers argued that she was nowhere near the scene of the crime, the jury deliberated for just fifteen minutes before sentencing her to hang. It may have seemed like the end, but Jessie's story was just beginning. One of the greatest mystery authors of her generation, Christianna Brand was also a pioneer of true crime. And despite reading like fiction, every word of this gripping historical saga is rooted in fact. Fans of In Cold Blood or The Onion Field will find that Heaven Knows Who ranks among the greats.
Publisher: [United States] : MysteriousPress.com/Open Road : Made available through hoopla, 2016
ISBN: 9781504037389
1504037383
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: hoopla digital

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at GSPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top