Waiting in the Shadows

Waiting in the Shadows

eBook - 2014
Rate this:
Perfect for fans of Veronica Roth's Divergent trilogy and Lois Lowry's The Giver. Amidst the excitement of the advances in stem cell research, little thought has been given to the spare parts created at the world-famous Centre. But what happens when those 'spare parts' are revealed to be a lot more than that - to be living, breathing human beings? When teenage orphan Stella flees from a life in care homes, she encounters a race of people known as the Ferals. The media portrays them as dangerous criminals, but Stella soon realizes they're not so different from her. They call themselves Labs, and they're clones, products of a sinister research programme at the Centre. Some of them managed to escape, where against all odds they survive under a fierce leader called Abel. Faced with fear, hatred, and violence, the Labs - with Stella's help - fight for freedom, acceptance, and a place in a society that would rather not face up to some unpleasant truths about itself ...
Publisher: [United States] : Accent Press : Made available through hoopla, 2014
ISBN: 9781682990537
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: hoopla digital


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at GSPL

To Top